Accessibility Innovation Showcase and Tech Pitch Competition

Accessibility Innovation Showcase


Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE), in partnership with the Ministry of Economic Development and Growth (MEDG), hosted the second Accessibility Innovation Showcase and Tech Pitch Competition at Discovery 2017 on May 15 and 16.

In 2005, the Government of Ontario created the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). The act aims to set out a clear goal and timeframe to make Ontario accessible by 2025. Through this act, public, private and non-profit organizations across Ontario have been working together to improve the everyday lives of people with disabilities.

Twenty-five Ontario-based companies exhibited their accessibility-focused innovation on the Discovery show floor. The showcase helped bring a broader awareness of the companies that exist in this niche market, exposed companies to potential private investors, and engaged the entire innovation ecosystem.

Further, the Tech Pitch Competition at this year’s Discovery provided a platform for five of the showcase companies to pitch on May 15 for a $20,000 award. Finalists were given a maximum of 10 minutes to pitch their innovative product or service of interest to the accessibility community and panel of judges, followed by a 10-minute question and answer period.

Showcase Companies:

  • AccessNow
  • AceAge
  • Awake Labs
  • Be Wear
  • Braze Mobility
  • BrightGuide
  • CheelCare
  • Cyberworks Robotics
  • eSight
  • EssayJack
  • Every1Games 
  • Heuristext
  • iBionics
  • Icon Wheelchairs
  • INVICTUS Games Toronto 2017
  • Komodo OpenLab
  • MyndTec
  • Steadiwear
  • TellMe TV
  • Timsle
  • TranQool
  • Tréxo Robotics
  • TruReach Health


The judging panel for the competition included members of the investment community, leaders in the accessibility community and OCE representatives.


Tibor Turi, Regional Director, Central Ontario, Ontario Centres of Excellence

Accessibility Panel - Championing Accessibility in Business

Featuring industry leaders with an innovative commitment to accessibility and building business


  • Susan Picarello, Assistant Deputy Minister, OPS Accessibility Office and Employment Strategy Division, Accessibility Directorate of Ontario


  • Paul Clark, President, TD Direct Investing and Executive VP, TD Banking Group

  • Laura Dottori-Attanasio, Senior Executive Vice President and CRO, CIBC

  • Cam Sawatzky, Digital Operations Leader and National Abilities Chair, TELUS

  • Anna-Karina Tabuñar, Director, Corporate Affairs, Sodexo Canada

Tech Pitch Competition


  • Valerie Fox, Chief Innovation Consultant, The Pivotal Point and former Executive Director, Ryerson DMZ

Judging Panel

  • Brenda Hogan, Senior Investment Manager, Ontario Capital Growth Corporation

  • Jaswinder Kaur, Director Emerging Markets, Kivuto Solutions Inc.

  • Arjun Mali, Co-Founder and COO, iMerciv Inc.

  • Mickey Milner, Ph.D. (Wits), D.Sc. (Hons) (Queen’s), P.Eng., C.C.E., Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto

  • Benton Leung, Angel Investor, Golden Triangle Angel Network

Competition Winner

Competition Finalists